728 x 90

You are here

Primary tabs

Mak-Western Sydney Univ. Discuss Collaboration

  • In General
  • 2 Aug 2019 - 2:06pm
  • By Mark Wamai
  • 176,625
The Vice Chancellor, Prof. Barnabas Nawangwe (Centre) with the Vice Chancellor and President WSU, Prof. Barney Glover (2nd Left) flanked by (Front Row: L-R) Assoc. Prof. Linda Taylor-WSU, DVCAA-Dr. Umar Kakumba and Dean MakSPH-Prof. Rhoda Wanyenze as well as Staff from Mak and WSU after the visit on 1st August 2019, Makerere University, Kampala Uganda

Makerere University on Thursday, 1st August 2019 hosted a delegation from the Western Sydney University (WSU), Australia as a precursor to collaboration especially in the area of Non-Communicable Diseases (NCDs). Led by the Vice Chancellor and President WSU, Prof. Barney Glover, the delegation was received by the Vice Chancellor, Prof. Barnabas Nawangwe, the Deputy Vice Chancellor (Academic Affairs), Dr. Umar Kakumba and Members of University Management.

The WSU delegation which also consisted of Pro Vice-Chancellor (International) Assoc. Prof. Linda Taylor, Prof. Andre Renzaho and Prof. Athula Ginige, accompanied by Dr. Paul Bukuluki was on a two-week visit to Africa, which took them to South Africa, Zimbabwe, Kenya and finally Uganda.

Prof. Barney Glover (Left) receives a Mak mug from the Vice Chancellor, Prof. Barnabas Nawangwe (Right) during the meeting

“We are honored to start this partnership with Makerere University which is not only one of the oldest academic institutions in Africa but also famous for its research and publications. Since Western Sydney University is also a research led university, I believe that this partnership will benefit both institutions,” said Prof. Glover.

He further noted that they seek to build on their relationship with Makerere University to engage the Government, NGOs and other partners both in Africa and Australia in capacity building, using technology to influence lives and finding solutions to Non-Communicable Diseases.

Assoc. Prof. Linda Taylor (Left) shows of a Mak scarf as received from Prof. Barnabas Nawangwe (Right)

Emphasizing on research, Prof. Glover listed some of the research institutes owned by Western Sydney University which include;

  • Health Research Institute
  • Environment Institute
  • Culture and Society Institute
  • Brain, Behavior and Development Institute

Prof. Barnabas Nawangwe welcomed the Vice Chancellor and his delegation to Makerere University and thanked them for deciding to collaborate with the premier University in the region. Reflecting on the fact that both universities are research-led, Prof. Nawangwe said that “this partnership will yield to more research publications, joint publications and also play an important role in societal development.”

Prof. Andre Renzaho, an ARC Future Fellow and Professor of Humanitarian and Development Studies, WSU (Left) could not hide his enthusiasm about receiving the Mak necktie

In his presentation, Prof. Nawangwe revealed that Makerere University is the 8th largest university in Africa with the largest Library which holds over 200,000 volumes and a sitting capacity of 4,000, ranked 2nd top research university in Africa. He added that Makerere generates 90% of research publications in Uganda and accounts for 50% of university enrollment nationally.

Western Sydney University was founded in 1989 under the terms of the University of Western Sydney Act, 1988. In 2015, the university underwent a rebranding which resulted in a change in name from the University of Western Sydney to Western Sydney University. The University consists of an amalgamation of campuses which include; Bankstown, Blacktown, Campbelltown, Hawkesbury, Parramatta and Penrith. The university boasts of its design to unlock the potential of youths and the largest nursing school which is ranked 4th in the world.

Prof. Athula Ginige, Professor of Information Technology, WSU (Left) receives his Mak necktie from Prof. Barnabas Nawangwe (Right)

Also in attendance from Makerere University were; Prof. Buyinza Mukadasi, Mr. Walter Yorac Nono, Prof. Henry Alinaitwe, Prof. Tonny Oyana, Prof. JYT Mugisha, Dr. Josephine Ahikire, Dr. Gorettie Nabanoga, Dr. Samuel Majalija, Dr. Paul Muyinda Birevu, Prof. Rhoda Wanyenze, Prof. Eli Sabiiti, Dr. Richard Edema, Dr. Moses Galukande, Mr. Paul Agaba, Mr. Matia Kabuye, Mr. Darius Muwanguzi, Ms. Martha Muwanguzi, Ms. Ritah Namisango, Mr. Gordon Murangira and members of the Public Relations Office.

Article by: Esther Joyce Nakibombo, Volunteer, Mak Public Relations Office

Liked it? Share it..