728 x 90

You are here

Primary tabs

Prof Bakibinga Elected as one of 40 New TWAS Fellows

  • In Law
  • 16 Nov 2016 - 4:31pm
  • By Mark Wamai
  • 47,984
Prof. David Justin Bakibinga has been elected as one of 40 New TWAS Fellows, 15th Nov 2016
Professor David Justin Bakibinga the Acting Chair of the Department of Commercial Law, School of Law, Makerere University has been elected as one of the 40 new fellows of The World Academy of Sciences (TWAS). According to a statement on the TWAS website, Prof. Bakibinga’s election took place during the Academy’s 27th Annual General Meeting currently underway in Kigali Rwanda. 
A professor of commercial law, Prof. Bakibinga was elected under the Social and Economic Sciences category along with three other Fellows from Taiwan-China, Kazakhstan and China. Twelve of the Forty New Fellows are female, with this year’s addition bringing the total TWAS membership to 2,004. 
The statement further reads that Prof. Bakibinga was elected in recognition of his “contributions to company law and governance in Commonwealth countries with focus on Uganda, UK, Ghana, Canada, Australia; analysis of equity, property and trusts law focusing on Uganda and Nigeria; revenue law and taxation focusing on income tax in Uganda since 1997 and Intellectual Property law in East Africa.”
The criterion for election recognises only those scientists who have attained the highest international standards and have made significant contributions to the advancement of science. Prof. Bakibinga’s election is therefore an endorsement of his personal contribution and that of Makerere University to the advancement of Science. 
Prof. Bakibinga joins five other Ugandan TWAS fellows namely; Prof. Thomas Gordon Egwang-Director General and CEO, Med Biotech Laboratories, Prof. Fredrick I.B. Kayanja-Former Vice Chancellor Mbarara University of Science and Technology (MUST), Prof. Peter Ndimbirwe Mugyenyi-Executive Director Joint Clinical Research Centre (JCRC), Prof. Elly Sabiiti-College of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences (CAES) and Prof. Nelson Sewankambo-Former Principal College of Health Sciences (CHS). 
Please see link below for full statement 
Ariticle by Public Relations Office

Liked it? Share it..