

## By Innocent Anguyo

Former Makerere University Vice-Chancellor Professor Venansius Baryamureeba has been unanimously voted as the founding chairperson of the Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa (COMESA) Innovation Council.

Prof. Baryamureeba was inaugurated yesterday at Uganda Communications Commission (UCC) headquarters in Kampala.

The other members of the council includ Dr. Aggrey Ambali from Malawi, Prof. Chris Mutambirwa from Zimbabwe, Dr. Dhanjay Jhurry from Mauritius, Dr. Jonathan M. Tambatamba from Zambia. The others are Prof. Lydia Makhubu from Swaziland, Prof. Marie Claire Yandju from D.R.C, Prof. Meoli Kashurda from Kenya, Mr. Micheal Savy from Seychelles and Mr. Mohamed Elsayed Aboud from Egypt.

The council is tasked with the turning the region into a technological and business hub, something that has eluded Africa as the rest of the world blossoms on scientific advancement and innovation.

The council was inaugurated by the prime minister Amama Mbabazi, flanked by Information Communication and Technology minister Ruhakana Rugunda.

Mbabazi welcomed the creation of the council saying science and innovation could instigate multitudes of opportunities for expediting rapid economic transformation in the region.

He noted that mobile technology was on the verge of transforming traditional industries and sectors such as education, agriculture and health.