

THE CFK HIGHER EDUCATION, SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY DONORS AND STAKEHOLDERS CONFERENCE, 12-16 NOVEMBER 2012

THEME: WESTERN SCIENCE MEETS AFRICAN REALITY

SUB-THEMES: ENVIRONMENT, HEALTH, AGRICULTURE, CLIMATE CHANGE,

POLICY, ENERGY, NANOTECHNOLOGY, WATER AND ICT

CONFERENCE OBJECTIVE: THE CONFERENCE WILL PROVIDE A PLATFORM FOR EXPERIENCE

AND KNOWLEDGE DISTRIBUTION BETWEEN WESTERN AND AFRICAN SCIENTISTS WITH THE AIM OF ADVANCING AFRICAN SCIENCE TO A HIGHER LEVEL. THE CONFERENCE WILL ALSO PROVIDE A FORUM FOR RESEARCH GRANT AGENCIES AND RECIPIENTS TO INTERACT AND DEVELOP A RESEARCH AGENDA

FOR AFRICAN SCIENCE.

CONFERENCE OUT-PUT THE CONFERENCE IS ORGANISED AS A SERIES OF SCIENTIFIC

SYMPOSIA WITH INTERNATIONALLY PEER REVIEWED PAPERS THAT WILL BE PUBLISHED IN SPECIAL EDITIONS OF INTERNATIONAL SCIENTIFIC JOURNALS AND PEER REVIEWED CONFERENCE

PROCEEDINGS.

EXPECTED PARTICIPANTS: PARTICIPANTS FROM EUROPE, USA, AUSTRALIA AND AFRICA, WITH

INTEREST IN RESEARCH IN THE AREAS OF THE ENVIRONMENT, HEALTH, AGRICULTURE, NANOTECHNOLOGY, CLIMATE CHANGE

AND RELATED FIELDS

KEYNOTE SPEAKERS: THE CONFERENCE HAS ATTRACTED KEYNOTE SPEAKERS OF

INTERNATIONAL REPUTE, INCLUDING:

- PROF. JENNY EMNÉUS DENMARK TECHNICAL UNIVERSITY
- PROF. GEORGE WHITESIDES, HARVARD UNIVERSITY
- PROF. FIONN MURTAGH, SCIENCE FOUNDATION IRELAND
- PROF. DERMOT DIAMOND, DUBLIN CITY UNIVERSITY
- PROF. J.H. PEN-MOGI, VICE CHANCELLOR GULU UNIVERSITY
- PROF. ROBERT WALKER, UNIVERSITY OF OXFORD
- PROF. CHARLES KWESIGA, UGANDA INDUSTRIAL RESEARCH INSTITUTE
- DR. BASHIR JAMA, ALLIANCE FOR A GREEN REVOLUTION IN AFRICA, GHANA
- PROF. FREDERICK I.B. KAYANJA, MBARARA UNIVERSITY OF SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY
- PROF. HOLGER MEINKE, UNIVERSITY OF TASMANIA, AUSTRALIA
- PROF. FRANCIS GABRIEL MOUSSY, WHO, GENEVA
- PROF. TIM UNWIN, COMMONWEALTH SCHOLARSHIPS COMMISSION (UNITED KINGDOM)
- PROF. ANTHONY GUISEPPI-ELIE, CLEMSON UNIVERSITY, USA
- PROF. ELLEN COLLISSON, UNIVERSITY OF HEALTH SCIENCES, USA
- PROF. SIMON BELL, OPEN UNIVERSITY, UNITED KINGDOM
- PROF. PANKAJ VADGAMA, QUEEN MARY UNIVERSITY LONDON
- PROF. ADIPALA EKWAMU, MAKERERE UNIVERSITY
- PROF. P.K. NAIR, UNIVERSITY OF FLORIDA

- PROF. JIM LYNCH, UNIVERSITY OF SURREY
- PROF. PAMELA WEATHERS, WORCESTER POLYTECHNIC INSTITUTE, USA
- PROF. MARY OKWAKOL, VICE CHANCELLOR BUSITEMA UNIVERSITY
- PROF. STEVE MORSE, UNIVERSITY OF SURREY
- PROF. TONY SIMONS, INTERNATIONAL CENTRE FOR RESEARCH IN AGROFORESTRY
- PROF. HEIKO LIEDEKER, FOREST LAW ENFORCEMENT GOVERNANCE AND TRADE (FLEGT) AND REDUCING EMISSIONS FROM DEFORESTATION AND FOREST DEGRADATION (REDD), BARCELONA
- PROF. GILBERTO CAMARA, NATIONAL INSTITUTE FOR SPACE RESEARCH (INPE), BRAZIL









CONFERENCE CHAIR: ASSOC. PROF. BARNABAS NAWANGWE, MAKERERE UNIVERSITY

CONFERENCE CO-CHAIR: PROF. SHAUKAT ABDULRAZAK, KENYA NATIONAL COUNCIL FOR

SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY (KNCST)

INTERNATIONAL ADVISORY COMMITTEE

- PROF. ROBERT WALKER
- PROF. HANNINGTON ORYEM-ORIGA
- PROF. CHARLES KWESIGA
- PROF. P.K. NAIR
- PROF. FIONN MURTAGH
- DR. ALICE AMODING
- PROF. PANKAJ VADGAMA
- PROF. HOLGER MEINKE
- PROF. SHAUKAT ABDULRAZAK
- PROF. JOHN HASLETT
- PROF. JEFF KRAMER
- PROF. STEVE MORSE
- PROF. J.H. PEN-MOGI
- PROF. ISAIAH NDIEGE

- PROF. PAMELA WEATHERS
- PROF. DERMOT DIAMOND
- ASSOCIATE PROF. BARNABAS NAWANGWE
- PROF. JENNY EMNÉUS
- PROF. JIM LYNCH
- PROF. ELLEN COLLISSON
- DR. ANTHONY GIDUDU
- PROF. SYED HASAN
- PROF. DAVID KABASA
- PROF. MARTHA MECARTNEY
- PROF. JOHN OPUDA-ASIBO
- PROF. ANTHONY GUISEPPI-ELIE
- PROF. JAMES NKATA
- PROF. MARY OKWAKOL
- PROF. FREDERICK KAYANJA

CONFERENCE VENUE: SPEKE RESORT AND CONFERENCE CENTRE MUNYONYO: DELUXE

ROOMS RESEVED AT SPECIAL RATE OF US\$ 126/NIGHT FOR

CONFERENCE PARTICIPANTS



ACCOMODATION: ADDITIONAL ACCOMODATION AT OTHER 4-STAR HOTELS ARE

AVAIALBLE NEARBY FROM USD 80 B/B

REGISTRATION: REGISTRATION CLOSES ON 26TH OCTOBER 2012

FOR MORE INFORMATION: PLEASE VISIT CONFERENCE WEBPAGE: http://www.thecfk.org/meetings.html

IMPORTANT DATES:

CONTACT:

31ST MARCH 2012: FIRST ANNOUNCEMENT AND CALL FOR ABSTRACTS 25TH AUGUST 2012: DEADLINE **(FINAL)** FOR SUBMISSION OF ABSTRACTS NOTIFICATION OF ACCEPTANCE OF ABSTRACTS

20TH SEPTEMBER 2012 SUBMISSION OF FULL PAPERS 30TH SEPTEMBER 2012 NOTIFICATION OF PAPER REVIEW 15TH OCTOBER 2012: FINALSUBMISSION OF FULL PAPERS

26TH OCTOBER 2012: DEADLINE FOR REGISTRATION OF PARTICIPANTS

12 -16THNOVEMBER 2012: CONFERENCE AND AWARD OF THE 2012 CFK SCHOLARSHIPS

REGISTRATION FEES: Students US\$ 100

Post-docs US\$ 150 Academics US\$ 200

Vice Chancellors and Deans/Directors US\$ 500

Policy makers/NGO and corporate executives US\$ 500 Conference Secretariat, Wing M3 CEDAT Old Building.

Email(s): atkinsgkatusabei@yahoo.com, Telephone (Office): +256 414 531231;

Tel (Mob): +256 772 693729; Fax (Office): +256 414 531230

THE CONFERENCE IS ORGANISED IN COLLABORATION WITH: United Nations Economic Commission for Africa (UNECA); World Health Organisation (WHO); Ministry of Education and Sports (MoES); Ministry of Health (MoH); Ministry of Water And Environment (MWE); Ministry of Agriculture (MoA); Busitema University (Busitema); Makerere University Kampala (MAK); Uganda National Council for Science and Technology (UNCST); Uganda Management Institute; Uganda National Academy of Sciences (UNAS); Mbarara University of Science And Technology (MUST); Regional Universities Forum (RUFORUM); Uganda National Council for Higher Education (UNCHE); Uganda National Roads Fund (UNRF); Uganda National

Roads Authority; National Environment Management Authority (NEMA); Uganda Electrification Agency (REA); Alliance for a Green Revolution in Africa (AGRA) Nairobi/Ghana; Gulu University (GU); Kyambogo University (KYU); National Water and Sewerage Corporation (NWSC); Uganda Bureau Of Statistics(UBOS); Uganda Wildlife Authority (UWA); Uganda National Chambers of Commerce (UNCC); Uganda Communications Commission (UCC); Uganda Aids Commission (UAC); Infectious Diseases Institute (IDI); National Agricultural Advisory Services (NAADS); Uganda National Curriculum Development Center (NCDC); National Drugs Authority (NDA); National Agricultural Research Organisation (NARO); Uganda National Research Institute (UNRI); Uganda National Examinations Board (UNEB); Kenya National Council For Science And Technology (KNCST); African Medical Research Foundation (AMREF)





